This week’s Top 5 is a little different than the usual! I am sharing with you my top 5 breakfasts that can be made in 5 minutes or less (well almost…)  I absolutely love to create and cook healthy foods. My mission is to find a healthy way to make good tasting, nutritional food spending less money and time than buying prepackaged grocery store food.  I could go on and on about prepackaged foods but the reality is most of them are full of a lot of chemicals and hidden fake sugars…empty non-nutritional calories. I found this picture and it sums it up so perfectly!!

caloriesvschemicals

It really is super easy to create your own meals with very little prepackaged/processed foods.  I wanted to share with you some of my favorite quick breakfast ideas that are high in protein and nutrients but low in complexity and time 🙂 I will keep it short and sweet!

Here is this week’s Top Five:

1) Eggs & Toast

I know, I know…eggs & toast seem like a given, old idea but here are a couple new ways to make eggs:

Just a couple notes first:

  • I use only organic and free range eggs, it is important and worth the extra $$ for my family (google it…or don’t if you don’t want to know the gross details). I buy local when I can and also like the Nellies Cage-Free brand that can be found in most grocery stores if I can’t buy local.
  • There are a few varieties of sprouted breads, I am a fan of Food for Life brand in the picture below, it is usually found in the organics freezer section at a store. There are several other brands from Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, etc…I just don’t have one close so this is my favorite! Just look at the ingredients and make sure you know what everything is….I prefer brands that do not have any type of flour added.

 Microwave Egg Frittata with Sprouted Grain Toast

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp cottage cheese
  • 1 cup chopped bell peppers & fresh spinach

*Scramble all up with a fork in a microwave safe bowl. Micro for 1 minute, stir, then 1 more minute and BOOM…super tasty eggs cooked to perfection! (time may vary)

**You can use any veggies that you like or no veggies at all or you can cut them really small to sneak them in for your non-veggie loving kids J The cottage cheese alone makes the eggs super fluffy (thanks Gram Jean for teaching me that trick!)

***I use coconut oil on my toast versus butter, try it, it is delicious!eggs&toast

Boiled Eggs with Toast and Fruit

This seems easy enough but my mom taught me a super easy way to boil eggs! Put eggs in a pan and add just enough water to cover them. Put a lid on the pan and bring to a boil. Then turn burner completely off, leaving the pan on the stove for 10 minutes. Rinse with cold water and then peel! They will be cooked perfectly and peel easily!boiledeggs

Egg Muffins

  • 12 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 2 cups chopped spinach
  • 1 cup chopped bell pepper and onion (sometimes I add leftover broccoli or other veggies)

*Scramble all together, fill 12 muffin cups and bake on 350 for 10 min!

**2 muffins equal one serving and you can store in the fridge for the week, they heat up in 20 seconds in the micro to enjoy them throughout the week EggMuffins3

 

2) Protein Pancakes

Every now and then, I just need a good pancake! I made this creation and I absolutely love it and they are a hit with the kids which we all know can be tough getting the kids on board with healthy eating J Here is the double batch recipe:

  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 scoops vegan vanilla protein powder
  • 2 Tbsp Buckwheat flour
  • Optional – topped with almond butter & pure maple syrup

*Mix all ingredients together and cook a couple minutes on each side.

**See the pic for the brands I use of the protein, buckwheat and almond butter. The important things here are that the almond butter should be only almonds, no added junk! The maple syrup should be from a local farm/health food store if possible. And also, just a little FYI, buckwheat is not really wheat at all, it is actually a fruit seed. Buckwheat flour is just super fine ground up buckwheat. I love buckwheat for so many reasons, it is a great source of high quality protein that is naturally easy to digest, it is packed with antioxidants, it grows super easy so it is easy to find it chemical free, it is non allergenic and naturally gluten free for all my gluten sensitive friends! pancakes

 

3) Yogurt

Yogurt is always a quick and easy breakfast but here is my trick: I always buy plain yogurt, never, ever any added items and then add my own. When it comes to buying yogurt, I prefer Fage, Siggi, Stonyfield or Noosa brands. Here are a few of my favs but really they all start with ½ cup of yogurt, add fresh fruit, spices and raw nuts or seeds, then drizzle with honey of maple syrup if you need a sweetener. It is super simple and it saves you from so many fake sweeteners and junk calories!

Blueberry Chia Yogurt

  • ½ cup plain yogurt
  • ½ cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 6-10 raw chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans)
  • Drizzle raw honey or pure maple syrup

 

 Apple Pie Greek Yogurt

  • ½ cup plain greek yogurt
  • ½ chopped apple
  • ½  tsp apple pie spice blend or cinnamon
  • 6-10 chopped raw almonds
  • Drizzle raw honey or pure maple syrup

yogurt

 

4) Protein Oatmeal

I make the oatmeal similar to the yogurt recipes above however I add about ¼ cup extra water to make it runny and then add a scoop of protein powder to add that extra kick of protein! My absolute favorite is chocolate coconut oatmeal so I have shared the recipe below, it reminds me of the coco wheats that my gram used to make for me when I stayed at her house….total comfort food yet super healthy!!!  You can make the blueberry chia or apple pie recipes above and replace the yogurt with oats and protein powder (I use the garden of life vanilla plant protein for those ones versus chocolate).

Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal

  • ¼ cup quick cook steel cut oats
  • ½ – ¾ cup water
  • 1 scoop vegan chocolate protein powder (I use shakeology)
  • 1-2 tsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 6-10 chopped raw almonds

*Cook oats in microwave for 1-2 minutes until tender, add in the rest of the ingredients and enjoy…yep it is that simple! If you need it a little more sweet initially, you can add raw honey or maple syrup but as you get your body used to not having sugars…you will not need to add any sweeteners 🙂

 

 

5) Blueberry Muffin Oatmeal Bars – say what?!?!

I have posted this recipe before and I seriously love it. These do take more than 5 minutes to make but having them prepped for a quick grab and go breakfast is perfect! They go great with coffee, they feel like you are having a not so healthy treat but they are packed full of nutritious goodness! If you need them to be a little sweeter, you can add a drizzle of raw honey after you cook them. Also, I keep them in the fridge and warm them up in micro for ~20 seconds. Oatbars

 

And if push comes to shove…..find a healthy cereal! Just look out for added sugars and crazy ingredients 🙂

cerealjoke

I challenge you try at least one of these over the next couple weeks and get creative! In my mind, recipes are meant as a guideline to give you an idea and for you to add your own special twist to it! Start your day out right, enjoy your breakfast….it makes it easier to choose happy over hangry!

Enjoy Today ~ Choose Happy 🙂

Tara

 

Leave a Reply

